Love That Makes You Feel at Ease

By Nahida Islam

It has been two months since I came to South Korea. In Gwangju, I am a PhD student at the Environmental Fusion Energy Technology Laboratory in the Department of Environmental and Energy Engineering at Chonnam National University.

This is my first time out of my country. I am from an overpopulated and small but loving and caring country called Bangladesh. Since I had never been to another country, at first, all I felt was anxiety about this place and its people and culture. Could I be a part of the society or culture? That is the question I asked myself all the time.

One day, I landed in an uncertain world with a trembling walk. I started my journey from Incheon airport with a missing heart I left at home. We have a very different lifestyle and culture back in my country. We are completely different, from the way we look to our food habits. Here, they use chopsticks, and we use our hands. Fun fact: I once even embarrassed myself holding chopsticks.

The adjustment to the new surroundings, meeting new people, settling down at a new home, and cooking were all a hassle. Also, the advanced technology they have here is among the best on the planet. Maybe, I was just drowning in darkness and wanted to touch the light and feel warmth in the cold weather at that time.

One day, I was randomly walking around the streets of Gwangju without any destination, which is a habit of mine from back in my country. A destination always pressures you to go forward and gives you a deadline to reach, so without one you can look around, feel the street, and see the life around.