Stories of Life as a GIC Intern

From Daegu to Gwangju, from Student to Intern.

Written and photographed by Emmanuela Sabatini.

I am Emmanuela Sabatini (Emma) from Indonesia, and I did my master’s degree at Keimyung University in Daegu via a Korean government scholarship program. Before I graduated, I asked myself many times about the future, and I decided to challenge myself by getting work experience in Korea.

I had never lived in Gwangju before, but I did visit twice in 2019: first, to participate in the ASEAN-Korea Special Exhibition, which was run by the Asia Culture Center; and second, for sightseeing related to May 18 and Gwangju’s neighboring city of Damyang. Those experiences encouraged me to try a new part of my life in Gwangju. So, naturally, I was glad to find out that I had gotten an internship at the Gwangju International Center (GIC).

From the middle of August 2020, my life in Gwangju started. I began by spending two weeks doing a homestay experience with a Korean family while taking an introductory class about my internship. The homestay hosts and I shared many things, like trying Indonesian food. They were so warm; they even picked me up to take me to my new home. I am so lucky to have a new family in Gwangju!
My internship started in the beginning of September 2020 while Korea was at the 2.5 social-distancing level for COVID-19. I spent my time mostly at the GIC or home at that time, as the pandemic affected various events happening around the GIC. The events at the GIC started to change from offline to an online platform, and I was naturally a part of this historic transition.

My Days as an Intern at the Gwangju International Center