Trust the Process

By Yousra Feriel Drioua

Have you ever thought it was too late? That you have become too old to do something different for yourself? Or that your pace has declined compared to the outer world’s, and so trying anything new would be too risky? Well, if you have experienced this type of emotion, here is a familiar story that just might be the kick to get you off your seat or, at the least, be of some comfort.

My name is Yousra Feriel Drioua, and I am choosing to re-draw my path at 22 years old. I arrived in Korea last August and am currently enrolled at Chonnam National University as a Korean language scholar under the KGSP-G scholarship program (Korean Government Scholarship Program: Graduate). Before enrolling, I had spent the previous five years of my life studying science. To be fair, it was something I sincerely enjoyed. But, here is the thing: I enjoyed only studying science. It was not until I got a bachelor’s degree in biology and signed up for a master’s in toxicology that a realization hit me. While interning in a lab and watching the people around me, I discovered that this was not what I wished to do in the future. I could not fathom another place that could dull down my spirit and chip away at my happiness for the rest of my life more than that lab. I had already let go of a dream at the age of 13 due to lack of support and financial issues (which my current self considers as excuses). The latter experience is why I crave no more regrets in my life as I go on.