GFN Goes Bilingual: Interview with PD Choi Hang

In continuing its collaboration with the Gwangju Foreign Language Network (GFN), in this issue the Gwangju News offers an interview with Choi Hang, GFN’s Program Director (PD) in charge of the Way Back with U program, the new bilingual sensation. — Ed.

Gwangju News (GN): Thank you for taking the time to participate in this interview for the Gwangju News, Mr. Choi. First, please introduce yourself by telling us about your background and about GFN. Also, how long have you been working for GFN?
Choi Hang: First of all, thank you, Gwangju News, for offering me this opportunity. My name is Choi Hang [최항], and I have been working at GFN for six years. There are three foreign language broadcasting companies nationwide: Seoul TBS efm, Busan BeFM, and Gwangju GFN. My main reason for joining the Gwangju Foreign Language Network was because I wanted to create and deliver a program that provided useful information related to the daily lives of the citizens and international residents living in Gwangju and Jeonnam.

GN: Please describe your main duties as a PD and the challenges that come with them.
Choi Hang: My main duties are program planning and production. The shows I am currently in charge of are Way Back with U, Music on the Road, and documentary productions that are in progress. In addition, I am also planning and conducting various festivals and events in cooperation with related organizations in Gwangju and Jeollanam-do. I also oversee the paperwork and visa documents for our international friends who join the station.

GN: What programs did you do before Way Back with U, and which one was your favorite?