Gifts from the Mountains

Written by Jonathan Blaney
Photographed by Jonathan Blaney and courtesy of the Gwangju International Center

There are certain landscapes or natural areas around the world that seem to feel like home as soon as you set foot there. It is a feeling of an inviting pull that grounds and comforts you. You just strangely know that this familiar-feeling place is home, even though you have never been there before. This is what I experienced when I first came to Korea in 2008, and as soon as I stepped off the plane, that feeling hit me like a truck.

This was while on a family trip when we were on a huge tour bus driving all around Korea. I remember visiting Seoraksan National Park, and the mountains blew me away. I could feel the plants and trees almost pulling me closer to them so I could learn more from this unknown and homey place. Once our trip ended, we all returned home to Los Angeles. Over the next ten years, I studied as much as I could about primitive skills and technology from many schools and programs. But I always felt a call back, a longing to learn deeper about this landscape.

I finally came back to Korea last year and spent a lot of time learning about as many of the plants, animals, and ancient tools as I could, along with running children’s nature programs through the Gwangju International Center (GIC). It has been so much fun!

The first thing I noticed when I started talking to Koreans and expats about the nature of Korea was that there was very little nature in Korea, that it was not very unique, or that there were no animals. From my experiences, I found this to be completely untrue. Even from my basic-level animal tracking, I could see numerous trails of sika deer, weasels, boars, herons, pheasants, and squirrels. I also would accidently spook deer while going just ten feet off the trail. I found that there is an abundance of wildlife, but it is often just right under our noses, and we pass by too quickly to notice.