From China to Korea

By Ellie Goodwin

Teaching is a popular career choice for the expat community, and given the perks that come with the job, it is easy to understand why: a healthy salary with decent saving opportunities, a comfortable work-social life balance with some of the living costs covered. And let’s not forget the students who (for all our exasperated sighs and hair pulling) tug at our heartstrings with their quirky ways and infectious laughs.

These perks alongside the travel opportunities are the reasons why I chose to take my teaching career to Asia. Before moving to Gwangju, I was a teacher in China. Naively, I figured that given the two countries were not that far apart geographically speaking, then there would be many similarities between the neighbours. I could not have been more wrong. In this article, I have written about some of the differences and similarities about my time in each country. 

A lone walk on the Great Wall in Beijing.

Domestic Travel