Mastering Language the Tong Tong Way: Where Korean Becomes Easy

Interview by Melline Galani.

Photographs courtesy of Tong Tong Language Class.

Gwangju News (GN): Hello, and thank you for taking the time to do this interview. Please introduce yourselves to our readers.
Hong Song-i: Hello, Melline. My name is Hong Song-i, and I am a native Korean instructor who has lived in Gwangju all of my life – except for a few years when I moved around with my father when I was younger and a single year when I went to the Philippines as an exchange student.
Ahn Pyeong-an: And my name is Ahn Pyeong-an. I teach Korean here at Tong Tong. I am not originally from Gwangju, but I have lived here continuously ever since I completed my military service and entered Chonnam University. Gwangju is my second hometown.

GN: How did you become partners and how long have the two of you been working together?
Ahn Pyeong-an: It has been over four years already since I started working at Tong Tong in 2017, but I met Song-i for the first time much earlier than that, in 2008. We met for the first time in Manila in the Philippines, where we were both exchange students and college colleagues together, but now we are partners and joint executives. You may not believe it, but Ms. Hong is older than you think [smiling]. I think I am lucky to have met such a good partner, but it is true that I was hesitant when deciding to work together because I thought about my family first. (I wanted to make a careful decision because she was my wife’s sister.)