My Taste of Gwangju!

By Gutema Saron Samuel

“We’ve all been raised on television to believe that one day we’d all be millionaires, and movie gods, and rock stars. But we won’t. And we’re slowly learning that fact. And we’re very, very pissed off.” – Tyler Durden quote from the film Fight Club

My desk was piled high with homework, and my final test was in two weeks. I’m a sophomore who still hasn’t visited much of the country; I’m disappointed that life isn’t full of new experiences after working hard in high school but rather more pressure in a higher institution. And I’ve diverted significantly from my initial intention of studying in another country to travel more and explore new things. Everything had to end, so I planned to make the most of my winter break by touring South Korea and finding new things in Gwangju, such as tasty cuisines and art galleries.